Publishing Peter (as an ebook?)

I’ve found another way to procrastinate.

Cover of 'Stories from Kensington Palace'
‘Stories from Kensington Palace’

When one more friend asked me if they could have a copy of Educating Peter, my short story published in May as part of the Stories from Kensington Palace anthology, I thought: no prob, I’ll email the manuscript.

Then I wondered: would it look better as a PDF? That’s easy to do, too, and people who would like to read it can download the story.

That’s when my avoidance techniques really began to soar. Why not try an experiment? A small ebook (or is it e-book or eBook? There’s plenty of online debate about this and I can’t spend any more time footling, really I can’t). Self-published, of course. It would be a useful trial run if I decide to go down that route in the future. (I’ll need to finish the words bit first, though).

I mean, you have to find out about e-publishing, haven’t you? As I tell my conscience.

English: A woman cuddling a pile of digital de...
People do love their e-readers(via Wikipedia)

So that meant researching formats and distributors. Nook Press is only available for US authors, I’m not keen on Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP)*, so I’m going for Smashwords or Lulu. Have you used any of these? It would be great to get your feedback.

Of course this involves re-formatting the text. And I need a cover image. Finding one and tweaking it took up a lot of yesterday. It still needs work.

And all the weekend my not-exactly-hero, Jack, who is causing me great difficulty at the moment, is sitting watching me and grinning. “You still haven’t nailed me,” he’s saying. OK, Jacko boy, you win. For now. Enjoy your fun. Because I’m going to get you.

So what do you think: ebook, e-book or eBook? Smashwords, Lulu or something else? I’d love to read your comments.

 

* Correction: what I meant was that I’m not keen on KDP Select.

8 thoughts on “Publishing Peter (as an ebook?)

Add yours

  1. I found Lulu easy to use, though it would have been better if I’d made the decision before I wrote an entire book “A Parcel of Ribbons” using my own Word template, since I had to reformat everything using a Lulu template. I found Tony Loton’s (self-published) book called “Book Publishing DIY” very helpful when I was trying to decide how to go about the whole process. I had help designing the cover, but otherwise did everything myself. If you pay a small extra fee on Lulu it will also ensure wider distribution through Amazon and other outlets. Tony Loton offers useful advice on how to decide about pricing and what to do about paying tax on your earnings!

  2. Thanks for your kind words, Julie, and for your thoughts on publishing.

    I’m looking forward to reading your blog post. You’ve obviously done a great deal of research and I value your comments – and I know you’re a great reader and reviewer, as well.

    I have a feeling that it’s probably a good idea to try as many routes as you can; perhaps that way each of us will find the one that works best for us and our work.

    But, as you say, the most important thing is that you are content and happy with your decision, and that you can be proud of your work.

  3. Thank you, Anne, this is very useful information. I certainly think Lulu did a good job with your book, which is why I thought of looking at it in the first place.

    I hadn’t heard of Tony Loton’s book until now – self-publishing advice is so much easier to find these days. I must look out for it. Thanks for the tip!

  4. I got the impression that some e-pub options prefer you to write in Word and then reformat. I expect it’s different for each one. But forewarned is forearmed, and nobody needs to go to unnecessary trouble when we’re busy enough anyway. I suppose that you haven’t got much choice if the book’s already written, but if you’re starting one it’s worth researching formats at the beginning – if you know which route you’re going to take.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

